Electrical Business

Features Careers Training & Education

$113,000 awarded to 2014 EFC Foundation scholarship recipients

September 26, 2014 | By Alyssa Dalton

September 26, 2014 – Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) has just announced the 2014 EFC Foundation Scholarship recipients. Congratulations!

This year, 56 scholarships were awarded to post-secondary students, supported by organizations in the electrical and consumer electronics sectors, to assist Canadian students achieve their career objectives. Scholarships are also awarded on the basis of academic achievement, areas of study, leadership and career interests.

2014 Scholarship Recipients:

• Affiliated Distributors Electrical Industry Scholarship Award ($3500): Chad Davis, Humber College


• Burndy Canada Inc. Academic Achievement Award ($3500): Corina Bizim, University of British Columbia

• Eaton Award of Academic Achievement ($3500): Mitchell Salisbury, McMaster University

• Eaton Award of Academic Achievement ($3500): Stacy Nguyen, Queen’s University

• Franklin Empire Scholarship Award ($3500): Bailey Piggott, Queen’s University

• GE Canada Community Leadership Award ($3500): Katelin Spence, University of New Brunswick

• Gerrie Electrical Memorial Scholarship Award ($3500): Lloyd Torres, University of Waterloo

• Graybar Canada Award of Excellence Scholarship ($3500): Austin Cousineau, University of Waterloo

• HPS Outstanding Electrical Scholar Award ($3500): Owen Evans, McMaster University

• Hubbell Canada LP “Electrical Industry Leadership” Scholarship ($3500): Sarah Gilbert, University of New Brunswick

• IDEA Innovating for the Future eBusiness Scholarship Award ($3500): Robert Green, University of Waterloo

• I-Gard Corporation Student Merit Award ($3500): Matthew Askett, Queen’s University

• Osram Sylvania Scholastic Achievement Award ($3500): David Bruneau, Memorial University of NFLD

• Philips Lighting Continuing Education Award ($3500): Julia Carter, University of Guelph

• RAB Design Lighting Award of Excellence ($3500): Brendon Earl, University of Victoria

• RABC William Taylor Scholarship Award in Radio Communications. Trevor Forward/ Memorial University of NFLD

• Schneider Electric Student Merit Award ($3500): Bonnie Tseng, University of Waterloo

• Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Award ($3500): Nikhil Thomas Joy, University of Waterloo

• Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Award ($3500): Gary Corcoran, Memorial University of NFLD

• Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Award ($3500): Stephanie Hladik, University of Calgary

• Sonepar Canada Scholarship Award ($3500): Marie LeBlanc, University of Calgary

• Standard Recognition of Excellence Award ($3500): Daniel Daly, Dawson College

• Thomas & Betts Scholarship Award ($3500): Bret Nestor, University of BC

• Wesco Student Achievement Award ($3500): Marielle Granie-Lackey, Ryerson University

• CEMRA Scholarship Academic Leadership Award ($2500): Branden Oukes, Georgian College

• Bob Dyer/OEL Apprentice Scholarship (5 x $500): Daniel Barna, Durham College; Thomas Legree, Algonquin College; Brian Green, Mohawk College; Steven Zajac, Durham College; Zack Fleming, Durham College

• EFC University Scholarships (9 x $1000): Vanessa Lum, Queen’s University; Keisha Chin-Yet, Memorial University of NFLD; Peter Lakner, Dalhousie University; Josh Ewart, University of Victoria; Brian Hartigan, Memorial University of NFLD; Daniel Shinun Kang, McGill University; Nicholas Kraemer, University of Alberta; Ryan Moloney, University of Victoria; Jameson Wong, McMaster University

• EFC College Scholarships (9 x $1000): Brittany Blanchette, Fanshawe College; Ben Vanderzanden, Conestoga College; Jeffery Riching, Algonquin College; Hojin Park, Humber College; Camilo Garcia, Centennial College; Matthew Ewings, Niagara College; Matthew McCann, Okanagan College; Courtney Stafford, University of Ontario Institute of Technology; Pierre Goyette, Cegep de Saint-Laurent

• EFC Atlantic Scholarships (8 x $500): Ryan Lavoie, New Brunswick College; Scott Jeffrey, Nova Scotia Community College; Krystina Lewis, Nova Scotia Community College; Stewart Green, Nova Scotia Community College; W. Derek Hansen, Nova Scotia Community College; Kelly Krewchuk, Nova Scotia Community College; Felicity MacDougall, Nova Scotia Community College; Clinton Slack, Nova Scotia Community College

The 2015 EFC Scholarship Program will be accepting applications February 2015. Stay tuned to EBMag.com for details!

Print this page


Stories continue below