Electrical Business


2010 Community Power Award winners announced

November 25, 2010 | By Craig Pearson

The Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA) 2010 Community Power Awards were presented during the Community Power Awards banquet and ceremony this month. The award winners are individuals who have made “significant contributions to the Community Power movement in Ontario and globally”.

The awards were presented by the previous year’s winner in each category. The 2010 award category and winners are:

Community Power Leader: Marion Fraser. “We would not have a Green Energy and Green Economy Act if it wasn’t for Marion Fraser. As a champion of conservation and Community Power, she has worked tirelessly and often without any recognition within government, as an intervener at the OEB and as the architect of many documents and briefings, including the original white paper scoping out the idea of the Green Energy Act. Marion is humble, a mentor and advisor to many of us and well deserving of tonight’s Community Power leadership award.”

International Community Power Award: Preben Maegaard. “Dr. Preben Maegaard has founded and led numerous organizations to advance the principles of community power, energy efficiency and renewable energy around the world. His training facility (known as the Folke Center in Denmark) has, for decades, provided the citizens of the world with the practical experience and knowledge necessary to implement the vision of a 100% renewable energy system. Preben is a mentor to many of us and can be truly considered the father of the Community Power movement.”


Aboriginal Community Power Award: Grant Taibossigai. “Grant Taibossigai is the economic development officer of M’Chigeeng First Nation located on Manitoulin Island. As project manager of the Meer wind project he has tirelessly and with great tenacity secured one of the first 100% aboriginal-controlled FIT contracts for a 8MW project. Like so many champions in the Community Power sector, he is humble, hardworking, always quick to lend a hand and committed 100% to advancing his community and addressing climate change. Grant is a great example for all of us to emulate and the M’Chigeeng project will be a great model for other First Nations to look to in the future.”

Rural Community Power Award: Glen Estill. “As a pioneer of Ontario’s wind industry, Glen Estill represents the ideal of what a developer should be. Glen has successfully developed a number of projects in his community of Lions Head and has always actively worked with his neighbours to ensure that they are not just a step in the process but partners in the project. Glen continues to champion renewable energy by helping spur wind and solar initiatives in his community, helping others help themselves, while being an articulate voice of reason online through his blog and within the larger renewable energy sector.”

Urban Community Power Award: Rob McMonagle. “It is a beautiful thing when leaders and visionaries are able to help all of us shift paradigms and create new opportunities for the future. Rob McMonagle has for decades been a champion of change, first working in the field as an installer, then heading up the Canadian Solar Industries Association and now as a city staffer responsible for tying together the social, environmental and economic benefits of renewable energy across Toronto. Rob is working from the inside out, helping shape policies and programs to make urban community and commercial power a driving force for Toronto’s prosperity, and a great example of the type of bureaucrat every municipality needs as we transition to a cleaner, greener future.”

“I would like to congratulate this year’s Community Power Award winners,” said Kristopher Stevens, executive director of OSEA. “They have all made outstanding contributions to the Community Power movement and their work continues to inspire all of us to champion and do our part ensuring a sustainable, 100% renewable future.”

CLICK HERE for Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA).

Print this page


Stories continue below