Electrical Business

News Personalities

Andy Cleven wins 2015 Lieutenant Governor Safety Award in B.C.

October 26, 2015 | By Renée Francoeur

October 26, 2015 – Congratulations to Andy Cleven for receiving the Excellence in Electrical Safety Award as part of the BC Safety Authority’s 9th annual Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards.

The awards, which will be presented by BC Safety Authority on November 23, 2015 recognize individuals and organizations that demonstrate “exceptional leadership, achievement or innovation in the promotion of technical systems safety in B.C.”

Cleven has 43 years of experience as an electrical journeyperson, the organization stated, and is the director of the Electrical Joint Training Committee (EJTC). He also served on the Heavy Industry Training Advisory steering committee, where he developed a program for the Red Seal trade of Industrial Electrician. Additionally, Cleven developed the national program standards and certification for photovoltaic solar installations and electric vehicle infrastructure, according to BC Safety Authority.

“He has been an advocate for improving the process of integrating internationally trained workers into the Canadian workplace for successful careers in the electrical trade,” the organization added.


He also serves on a number of committees including the National Electrical Trades Council steering committee.

EBMag has the pleasure of touring the EJTC’s training centre in Port Coquitlam, B.C. with Cleven back in 2011. See the video HERE.

Six others from multiple technology sectors will also receive BC Safey Authority Lieutenant Governor Safety awards.

“BC Safety Authority is proud to recognize the exceptional work of these individuals and organizations,” says Catherine Roome, president and CEO. “Their efforts go above and beyond, which creates public confidence in safety systems. Whether their passion for safety stems from a very personal experience, or from years of innovation and sharing knowledge, they are exemplary in their risk awareness. We thank them for their outstanding contributions to safe technical systems.”

Print this page


Stories continue below