Canadian Electrical Awards

To be eligible for a Canadian Electrical Award 2018, nominees must meet all of the following eligibility criteria:

• Eligible projects must have been completed from January 1, 2017, to September 14, 2018.

• NOMINATIONS start April 2, 2018, and close October 12, 2018.

• Projects will be judged as either LARGE (over $1 million) or SMALL (under $1 million). This figure applies to the entire project, not just the electrical portion.

• Award categories include:
- Industrial
- Commercial
- Institutional
- Residential
- Special (something that, based on its uniqueness, stands apart from the crowd)
- Electrical Safety Champion (see below)

• The Electrical Safety Champion will remain a special category within the overall awards program. This award recognizes Canadian companies and individuals who are passionate about promoting the electrical health & safety of Canadian electrical workers. Rather than individual categories for Contractor, Maintenance Team, Utility and Individual, all submissions from any of these groups will be judged together to produce the Electrical Safety Champion.

• Submit to only one category. A project submitted under one category may be considered under another.

• There may not be a winner in every category.

• Entries are due by October 12, 2018.

• Entries must be submitted electronically.

• Entries must include a link to download project photography (or contact us for help). Please ensure we have the rights to reproduce your photos.

• Submissions must be made by a Canadian employer.

• In the case of the Electrical Safety Champion award, an employer must not have incurred any serious injuries or fatalities in the last five years.

• In the case of the Electrical Safety Champion award, an employer must not have been convicted of any charge under the Occupational Health and Safety Act and/or Criminal Code in the last five years.

• Electrical contractors must possess the appropriate qualifications for performing electrical work in their jurisdiction.

• Engineering professionals must possess the appropriate qualifications for providing engineering services in their jurisdiction.

• In the case of the Electrical Safety Champion award, Individual Champions are not necessarily electrical contractors, electricians, engineers, linemen, etc... though they most certainly can be! Instead, they are individuals who, through their efforts, have advanced electrical safety awareness, standards, best practices., etc.

• Nominations can be made by anyone within the industry, including self-nominations.

• Among the criteria, projects will be judged on their technical execution, coming within budget, safety record and general “Wow Factor”.

If you have any questions about the awards nomination and entry process, please contact Anthony Capkun 416-510-5216 or .

Winners will receive recognition in a Feature Article in a special issue of Electrical Business and L’industrie électrique, PLUS a beautiful award trophy AND bragging rights!

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions