Electrical Business

News Personalities

Canadian takes IEC 2016 Thomas A. Edison Award

July 5, 2016 | By Renée Francoeur

July 5, 2016 – Congratulations to Robert Arseneault, recently awarded the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 2016 Thomas A. Edison Award.

Created in 2010, this award recognizes “exceptional achievement, dedicated service and significant contributions to the IEC through the effective management of technical committees (TCs) or subcommittees (SCs) by TC/SC officers (chair, secretary or assistant secretary) or by officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies.”

Nominated by the IEC Canadian National Committee, Arseneault has been the international secretary of IEC TC4 Hydraulic Turbines since 1992. The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) notes he recently played a major role in assisting Japan with hosting the IEC TC4 Plenary meeting in Tokyo after the Fukushima tragedy.

In the last five years, he has also worked closely with the chairs to launch two new working groups; MT31 on Turbine Residual Life and WG33 on Pressure Fluctuations. The project on Turbine Residual Life was performed in less than six years, according to SCC, which is “a significant accomplishment given that previous projects have often required ten or more years.”


SCC says it appreciates and recognizes the dedication of Arseneault.

Print this page


Stories continue below