Electrical Business


CHA introduces Hydropower Awards

December 7, 2018 | By Peter Saunders

Photo courtesy OPG

December 7, 2018 – The Canadian Hydropower Association (CHA) recently marked its 20th anniversary with the introduction of a new awards program to recognize the contributions of and dedication demonstrated by leaders in the sector.

The association’s president, Anne-Raphaëlle Audouin, presented the 2018 Hydropower Awards on Nov. 21, during the annual Hydropower Forum in Ottawa. There were four awards in total:

– The CHA President’s Award went to Colin Clark, chief technical officer (CTO) for Brookfield Renewable Energy Group, which owns and operates 876 power facilities in North America, Latin America, Europe and Asia.
– The Path Forwards Award honoured Ontario Power Generation’s (OPG’s) partnership with the Taykwa Tagamou Nation (TTN), which recently completed the Peter Sutherland Sr. Generating Station at New Post Creek, Ont. (pictured).
– The Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE) Hydropower Woman of Distinction Award went to Shawna Pachal, acting chief finance and strategy officer (CFSO) for Manitoba Hydro.
– The Outstanding Project Award went to SNC-Lavalin for its work on the replacement of BC Hydro’s John Hart Generating Station in Campbell River, B.C., which marked North America’s first public-private partnership (P3) project in the hydro sector.

“SNC-Lavalin and its partners are thankful for BC Hydro’s trust in taking the innovative route of building an underground power station that leaves a small footprint on the environment,” said Royden Heays, vice-president (VP) of operations and senior project manager for SNC-Lavalin.


“The work these award winners and the many others in the hydro community do is essential to a clean energy future,” said CHA president Audouin.

Print this page


Stories continue below