Electrical Business

Features Codes & Standards News & Updates

Driscoll, Friesen, Davis and Froats recognized for standards devotion

June 17, 2015 | By Anthony Capkun

June 17, 2015 – Last night, CSA Group presented its 2015 Awards of Merit to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in developing voluntary standards and who, through technical, administrative or special standards activities, have advanced the purpose of CSA Group. Among this year’s winners are:

Tim Driscoll (Photo 1) of Calgary received an Award of Merit in recognition of “long-standing, inspired advocacy and respected expertise in developing and advancing electrical safety standards”. Driscoll is retired from Shell and now owns and operates OBIEC Consulting.

Dale Friesen (Photo 2) of Winnipeg received an Award of Merit in recognition of “technical expertise, influential advocacy and leadership in developing performance standards for energy efficiency of industrial equipment”. Friesen is division manager, Industrial and Commercial Solutions, at Manitoba Hydro.

Phil Davis of Deep River, Ont. (not in attendance) received an Award of Merit in recognition of “exceptional technical knowledge, dedicated leadership and valued mentorship for standards for nuclear facilities”. Davis retired in 2008 from Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), but continues to work on standards development at CSA Group.


“The Award of Merit recipients for 2015 are an integral part of standards development at CSA Group,” said Gianluca Arcari, executive director Standards, and VP CSA Group. “Their skills, knowledge and dedication contribute to public safety, innovation and technical advancement in a variety of fields that help make a better, safer, more sustainable world for everyone.”

Meantime, CSA Group’s highest honour, the John Jenkins Award, was presented to John Froats (Photo 3) in recognition of his “outstanding achievement, extraordinary vision, commitment to excellence and tireless advancement of standards for the nuclear industry”.

“John Froats has been the chair of the CSA Nuclear Strategic Steering Committee for the past seven years. Mr. Froats has been instrumental in shaping and refining the nuclear program into one of CSA Group’s most respected, well-organized and efficient programs,” noted Arcari. “In leadership strength, technical knowledge, strategic acumen and personal integrity, John Froats is truly unmatched.”

The awards were presented by Dr. Roland Hosein, board chair, CSA Group.

Photos A. Capkun.

Print this page


Stories continue below