Electrical Business


Electro-Federation Canada announces 2010 Scholarship recipients

October 9, 2010 | By Anthony Capkun

mt_ignore Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) and its member partners and affiliates announced the winners of the 2010 EFC Scholarship Program, where a total of $38,500 was awarded to this year’s recipients:

• Alexander Barrie, McMaster University, Electrical Engineering, EFC University Scholarship
• John Meko, UWO -Richard Ivey School of Business, Business Administration, EFC University Scholarship
• Kanishka Jayawardene, University of Calgary, Electrical Engineering, EFC University Scholarship
• Jonathan Bouchard, University of Sherbrooke, Electrical Engineering, EFC University Scholarship
• Jeff McFadden, Fanshawe College, Electrician, EFC College Scholarship
• Melissa McHaffie, Conestoga College, Electrical Technician, EFC College Scholarship
• Nathan Leonard, Georgian College, Electrical, EFC College Scholarship
• Maarten Lubbers, St. Lawrence College, Energy Systems, EFC College Scholarship
• Roshan Philip, University of Calgary, Electrical/Mechanical
Engineering, Affiliated Distributors Electrical Industry Scholarship
• Torin Linton, Humber College, Electrical Apprenticeship, OEL Apprenticeship Scholarship
• Brandon Gibson, Mohawk College, Electrician Construction/Maintenance, OEL Apprenticeship Scholarship
• Andrew McDonald, University of New Brunswick, Mechanical Engineering, Canlyte Empowering Success Award
• Noelle Vialoux, University of Manitoba, B.Sc. Engineering, Eaton Award of Academic Achievement
• Igor Ivanecky, Ryerson University, Electrical Engineering, GE Canada Community Leadership Award
• Warren Moshonsky, Lakehead University, Mechanical Engineering, Osram Sylvania Ltd. Scholarship Achievement Award
• Carissa Ouellette, Camosun College/University of Victoria, Electrical
Engineering, Bridge    Brews Supply Ltd. Electrical Engineering
Technology Award
• Jonathan Kehler, Simon Fraser University, Engineering Science, R.A.B.C. Future Leader in Telecommunications Award
• Eric Cousineau, University of Waterloo, Honours Electrical Engineering, S&C Electric John R. Conrad Award of Excellence
• Jamie Brown, Mount Saint Vincent University, Accounting & Management, Schneider Electric Student Merit Award
• Brendan Janssen, University of Ontario Institute of Tech., Electrical Engineering, Research In Motion Technology Scholarships
• Nikesh Parsotam, University of Waterloo, Electrical Engineering, Research In Motion Technology Scholarships
• Curtis Flavel, University of Saskatchewan, Electrical Engineering, CEMRA Academic Leadership Award

The EFC Foundation Scholarship Program was established in 1995 to
encourage Canadian students to pursue a career in Electrical
Engineering, Industrial Distribution, Business Administration, or as an
Electrical Technologist, Certified Electrical Technologist and/or
Electrical Technician.

This year, the foundation received over 450 applications from students
throughout various educational institutions across the country. Eligible
students are required to meet the guidelines specific to each
scholarship. The selection criteria include academic performance, areas
of study, leadership and career interests.

The EFC Foundation Scholarship Program is offered in partnership with
participating members, as well as the Alberta Electrical League (AEL),
British Columbia Electrical Association (BCEA), Manitoba Electrical
League (MEL), Ontario Electrical League (OEL), Canadian Imaging Trade
Association and the Radio Advisory Board of Canada.


Dates for the 2011 program have not yet been announced.

Email info@electrofed.com for more information on the program.

CLICK HERE for Electro-Federation Canada.

Print this page


Stories continue below