Electrical Business

Electro-Federation Canada announces 2011 scholarship recipients

October 12, 2011  By Anthony Capkun

October 11, 2011 – Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) and its corporate partners recently awarded over $40,000 in scholarship funds to 26 students across Canada. Presented annually, this year’s EFC Foundation Scholarships were awarded to post-secondary students studying Engineering, Computer Science and Business Administration, or to students in electrical apprenticeship programs.

“I’m pleased that we are continuing to help students fulfil their career dreams,” said Jim Taggart, president & CEO, EFC. “It is great to encourage young, talented students to enter our industry.”

Want to see and hear from past recipients? WATCH!

Recipients were selected from over 400 entrants, and were chosen on the basis of academic achievement, areas of study, leadership and career interests. And the winners for 2011 are:


EFC Foundation University Scholarships ($1000)
• Kanista Jayawardene, McGill University
• Michael Stenhouse, University of Alberta
• Dennis Clyne, Lakehead University
• Ryan Haley, Acadia University

EFC Foundation College Scholarships ($1000)
• Marcus Bol, Mohawk College
• Ray Collins, Durham College
• Andrew Harker, DeVry Institute of Technology
• Julie Jesswein, Sir Sandford Fleming College

Affiliated Distributors, Electrical Industry Scholarship ($2500)
• Joshua Askett, Queen’s University

Brews Supply Ltd. Electrical Engineering Technology Award ($1000)
• Brandon MacDougall, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology

Bob Dyer/OEL Apprenticeship Scholarships ($500)
• Jeff McFadden, Fanshawe College
• Roshan Augustinepillai, Humber College
• Bradley Richie, Conestoga College
• Erik Kimens, Durham College
• Bryce Bates, Cambrian College

Canlyte Empowering Success Award ($2500)
• Cody Scott, Durham College

CEMRA (Canadian Electrical Manufacturers’ Representatives Association) Academic Leadership Award ($2500)
• Roxanne Grenier, L’Université du Québec in Montréal

Eaton Electrical Award of Academic Achievement ($2500)
• Hannah Edmondson, McGill University

GE Canada Community Leadership Award ($2500)
• Roxanne Olynyk, University of Regina

Osram Sylvania Scholastic Achievement Award ($2500)
• Christian Jegues, University of Manitoba

Radio Advisory Board of Canada Future Leader in Telecommunications Award ($3500)
• Curtis Morley, University of Victoria

RIM Technology Scholarship Awards ($2500)
• Michael Stenhouse, University of Alberta
• Cory Metcalfe, University of Manitoba

Schneider Electric’s Student Merit Award ($2500)
• Kimberly Gulevich, University of Northern British Columbia

Standard Recognition of Excellence Award ($2500)
• Danielle Fleury, Saint Mary’s University

Wesco Student Achievement Award ($2500)
• Michel Kalulphimp, University of Victoria

The EFC Foundation Scholarship Program was established in 1995 to encourage Canadian students to pursue a career in the electrical, electronics and telecom industries. To date, EFC has invested almost $600,000 in the post-secondary technical training and education of Canadian students through the Scholarship Program.

Member support for this program has been remarkable, says EFC. This year, over $25,000 in scholarship funds was raised by EFC members at the 11th Annual EFC Federation Cup Charity Golf Tournament. CHECK OUT PHOTOS HERE!

Print this page


Stories continue below