Electrical Business


EnBW City in Stuttgart takes 2009 GE Edison Award

May 19, 2010 | By Anthony Capkun

The 2009 GE Edison Award was presented to Andreas Schulz and Alexander Rotsch of Licht Kunst Licht AG (Bonn, Germany) for lighting EnBW City in Stuttgart. EnBW City is the new headquarters complex for EnBW, a supplier of power, gas and water in Germany.

A personalized Steuben crystal award for the 27th annual lighting design
competition was presented by GE Lighting on May 11 in Las Vegas. A
panel of five judges selected this year’s winning entry for its
superiority in the following categories: functional excellence;
architectural compatibility; effective use of state-of-the-art lighting
products and techniques; appropriate colour, form and texture
revelation; energy and cost effectiveness.

The winning project was one of five Awards of Excellence finalists. The
others were:

• 1100 First Street NE (Washington, D.C.) designed by George Sexton
Associates (Washington, D.C.)
• Emil Schumacher Museum (Hagen, Germany) designed by Andreas Schulz and
Tanja Baum of Licht Kunst Licht AG (Bonn, Germany)
• Novartis Campus – Maki Office Building (Basel, Switzerland) designed
by Andreas Schulz, Martina Weiss and Thomas Möritz of Licht Kunst Licht
AG (Bonn, Germany)
• MUAC University Museum of Contemporary Art (Mexico City, Mexico)
designed by Gustavo Avilés and Juan Carlos Martinez of Lighteam, Gustavo
Avilés, S.C. (D.F. Mexico City, Mexico).

(A good year for Andreas Schulz, n’est-ce pas?)


Also presented at the GE Edison Awards ceremony were five Awards of
Merit, three Awards for Excellence in Environmental Design, one Award
for Residential Design – Excellence, one Award for Residential Design –
Merit, and one Special Citation.

2009 GE Edison Awards of Merit:

• Poplar Creek Public Library (Streamwood, Ill.), Leslie M. North Aurora
Lighting Design Inc. (Grayslake, Ill.)
• The Delegation of Ismaili Imamat (Ottawa, Ont.), Suzanne Powadiuk,
Suzanne Powadiuk Design (Toronto, Ont.)
• Goucher College Athenaeum (Towson, Md.), George Sexton Associates
(Washington, D.C.)
• Co-Cathedral of the Sacred Heart (Houston, Texas), Andrew A. Powell,
Chip Israel and Hanna Son, Lighting Design Alliance (Long Beach, Calif.)
• Connecticut Science Centre (Hartford, Conn.), Francesca Bettridge,
Michael Hennes and Alexis Arnoldi, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting
Design Inc. (New York, N.Y.)

2009 GE Edison Awards for Excellence in Environmental Design:

• MUAC University Museum of Contemporary Art (as above)
• Focal Point Headquarters (Chicago, Ill.), Carla Bukalski Focal Point
(Chicago, Ill.)
• Tualatin Public Library (Tualatin, Ore.), Earl F. Levin, Keylight +
Shadow (Lake Oswego, Ore.), Jon Schleuning SRG Partnership (Portland,

2009 GE Edison Award for Residential Design – Excellence:

• Oceanfront Estate (The Caribbean), Sean O’Connor and Martha Lopacki,
Sean O’Connor Lighting (Beverly Hills, Calif.)

2009 GE Edison Award for Residential Design – Merit:

• Unexpected Discovery (Aspen, Colo.), Deborah Witte, Witte Ayotte Light
(Carbondale, Colo.)

2009 GE Edison Award – Special Citation:

• Virtual Restoration of San Agustin’s Church (Zacatecas, Zacatecas,
Mexico), Elias Cisneros, 333 Luxes (Mérida, Yucatán, Mexico), Georgina
Salazar, GA Illuminación (Mérida), Valy Tremblay, Proluxon (Montreal,

The GE Edison Award competition is open to those lighting professionals
who creatively employ significant use of GE light sources (lamps and/or
LEDs) in a lighting design project completed during the previous
calendar year.

CLICK HERE to view all the award winners of the 2009 GE Edison Awards in
more detail, and to find information related to the 2010 GE Edison
Award call for entries.

Photo shows EnBW City, 2009 GE Edison Award Winners: Andreas Schulz
& Alexander Rotsch of Licht Kunst Licht AG (Bonn, Germany). Photo
by: Lukas Roth.

Print this page


Stories continue below