Electrical Business

Features News News Safety Safety News

ESA honours Ontario’s 2020 electrical safety champs

September 24, 2020 | By Anthony Capkun

Reps from (top row, L to R): PUC Services, Lori Gallaugher (herself), Aecon Mining Construction Services, Carney Electric; (bottom, L to R): Mohawk College, Hydro One.

September 24, 2020* – The results are in, and several deserving organizations/people are the newest owners of some electrical safety award hardware, courtesy of Ontario’s Electrical Safety Authority.

“At ESA, we know we can’t achieve our vision of an Ontario where people can live, work, and play from electrical harm on our own,” said the agency when it issued the call for nominations. “That’s why we rely on and appreciate the contributions of our safety partners and stakeholders.”

ESA’s Josie Erzetic delivered the good news during a live/virtual presentation. Congratulations to the following:

Worker Safety
PUC Services Inc., Sault Ste. Marie


Powerline Safety
Ms. Lori Gallaugher, executive director, Utilities Standards Forum

Consumer & Home Safety
Hydro One Networks Inc.

Licensed Electrical Contractor Recognition *NEW for 2020
Aecon Mining Construction Services
Carney Electric Ltd.

Chief Public Safety Officer’s Special Recognition Award
Mohawk College

VISIT ESA ONLINE to learn why these recipients were selected.

Now in its 10th year, ESA established the awards to formally recognize “the important contributions of individuals and organizations toward achieving ESA’s vision of an Ontario where people can live, work and play safe from electrical harm”.

Ontario’s Electrical Safety Authority is responsible for administering specific regulations related to the Ontario Electrical Safety Code, the licensing of electrical contractors and master electricians, electricity distribution system safety, and electrical product safety.

* Updated September 25, 2020, with link to ESA’s news release.

Print this page


Stories continue below