Electrical Business

News Personalities

Fortis shuffles executive team – Smith, Walker, Ludlow and Marshall

June 26, 2014 | By Alyssa Dalton

June 26, 2014 – Fortis has announced the following executive vice president (EVP) appointments involving Karl Smith, John Walker and Earl Ludlow.

Karl Smith, president and CEO of FortisAlberta, will become EVP and chief financial officer (CFO) effective June 30, 2014. He boasts a career with the Fortis Group that spans more than 25 years, with senior management positions at Newfoundland Power and Fortis. Smith currently serves as a board director for FortisAlberta and CH Energy Group, as well as a director of the Western Energy Institute and the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) boards and is past chair of CEA. In his new role, he will provide financial leadership to the organization and will have responsibility for the corporation’s finance, financial reporting and planning, audit, investor relations, tax and regulatory compliance, and mergers and acquisitions functions.

John Walker, president and CEO of FortisBC, will become EVP, Western Canadian operations, effective August 1, 2014. Boasting a three-decade long career with the Fortis Group, his experience includes serving as president and CEO of FortisBC Electric, FortisBC Gas and Fortis Properties. He is a director of FortisAlberta, FortisBC and CEA, as well as chair of the Western Energy Institute, and vice-chair of the Canadian Gas Association. As EVP of Western Canadian operations, Walker assumes responsibility for FortisBC, FortisAlberta and non-regulated energy-related operations, including the Waneta Expansion hydroelectric generating facility in British Columbia. Fortis owns 51% of the Waneta Expansion and will operate and maintain the facility when it comes online, which is expected in spring 2015. As well, Walker will continue to lead liquefied natural gas (LNG) infrastructure expansion opportunities, including the recently approved $400-million Tilbury LNG expansion facility, located on the Fraser River, in Delta, B.C.

Earl Ludlow, president and CEO of Newfoundland Power, will become EVP, Eastern Canadian and Caribbean operations, effective August 1, 2014. With a 34-year Fortis career, his previous roles include president and CEO, senior vice president and VP of operations. Ludlow is a director on the boards of Newfoundland Power, Maritime Electric, FortisOntario, Caribbean Utilities and CEA. His new role includes responsibility for Newfoundland Power, Maritime Electric, FortisOntario, Fortis Turks and Caicos and Caribbean Utilities.


“Karl, John and Earl, through their extensive utility experience and considerable leadership responsibilities throughout the Fortis Group, have each made a significant contribution to the value that Fortis has achieved for our shareholders and the reputation that Fortis has built for delivering quality service to customers,” said Stan Marshall, president and CEO of Fortis.

Fortis has also announced that Barry Perry will succeed Marshall as president and CEO this December upon his retirement.

Print this page


Stories continue below