Electrical Business

News
How can a television feed a village?


October 30, 2009
By Anthony Capkun

mt_ignoreOr, for that matter, how can a drill, BluRay player or hockey tickets feed a classroom? These things can do just that—and more—when they’re donated to the Hungry for Change Fall 2009 Auction, coming up just in time for the holiday season.


“We’re hosting an online auction on eBay this fall,” explains Steve
Elsdon, a member of the Hungry for Change volunteer fundraising
committee, “and we’re hoping we can count on you—both corporate and
individual—to donate items to the auction.”



Driven by volunteers from Canada’s Electrical Industry, Hungry for
Change is an ongoing campaign that provides fun opportunities for
friends and colleagues to raise funds for vulnerable children around
the world, including Canada.



Elaine Gerrie, a member of the fundraising committee, explains that
auction items can take any form: surplus stock, gift certificates,
event tickets, services, unique experiences… “You name it, we want
it,” adds Elaine. To donate an item(s), please ship prepaid to:


Attn: Kristin Philpot

Canadian Feed the Children


174 Bartley Drive


Toronto, ON  M4A 1E1



When you help Hungry for Change (Canadian Feed the Children), you fund
nutrition programs for vulnerable children—not just in some far-off
African village, but right here at home in Canada, too! And because
Hungry for Change is volunteer-driven, 94% of the funds raised go
directly to programs.


CLICK HERE to visit HUNGRY FOR CHANGE


However you choose to get involved, you join Canada’s electrical
industry in making a world of difference. To be a part of this amazing
industry-led campaign, visit www.hungryforchange.ca to learn more, get
useful templates and forms, donate and register a fundraising event.
For even more information, feel free to contact any one of the other
Hungry For Change committee members listed below:



Steve Elsdon • selsdon@columbiambf.net


Mike Gentile • mgentile@canlyte.com


Tom Crist • cristtv@eecol.com


Elaine Gerrie • egerrie@gerrie.com


Dick Roney • dickr@roneymk.com


Mary-Ellen Donaldson • mdeforest@purolator.com


Carol McGlogan • cmcglogan@canlyte.com


Dave Syer • dave@syer.net


Tom Brockway • thomas.brockway@brockway.ca


Rob Ruys • rob_ruys@tnb.com


Steve Crocker • scrocker@wesco.com


Anthony Capkun • acapkun@clbmedia.ca

SEE ALSO: How can a Greeting Card Feed a Classroom?

Advertisement

Print this page


learning curve Sponsored Content
Post your tech sheets, white papers, new technology etc. Contact Anthony Capkun