Electrical Business

IEEE ComSoc Career and Service Award winners 2011

December 8, 2011  By Anthony Capkun

December 8, 2011 – The IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc), a professional organization dedicated to the advancement of communications technologies, honoured this year’s career and service award winners during the first official day of IEEE Globecom 2011. Themed “Energizing Global Communications,” Globecom hosted the presentation of more than 1500 workshops, tutorials, business panels, keynotes and technical papers highlighting the latest advances in broadband, wireless, multimedia, data, image and voice communications.

“Recognizing the outstanding contributions of our colleagues is one of the most important things we do as a technical society,” said H. Vincent Poor, master of ceremonies and Awards Committee chair. “It is our honour to acknowledge the accomplishments of the individuals who have had a tremendous impact on our society and the global advancement of communications technologies.”

During ceremonies held during the conference’s annual banquet luncheon, IEEE ComSoc presented its annual honours to:

• Sasi Pilacheri Meethal – Award for Public Service in the Field of Telecommunications for “sustained contributions to low-cost communications solutions for the masses and humanitarian needs”.
• Lawrence Bernstein – Industrial Innovation Award for “innovations in software engineering and project management in support of supplying telephone service to the public”.
• Stefano Galli – Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award for contributions strengthening [ComSoc’s] strategic position in powerline communications and smart grid communications”.
• Khaled Ben Letaief – Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings & Conferences for “an exemplary and sustained record of service to [ComSoc’s] conferences”.
• Vijay Bhargava – Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications and “contributions to the journals of [ComSoc], fostering new publications and improving effectiveness of the processes of existing ones”.
• J. Roberto B. de Marca – KICS Exemplary Global Service Award for “contributions to building [ComSoc’s] global membership, activities and prestige”.
• Moe Z. Win – IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award “for fundamental contributions to high-speed reliable communications over optical and wireless channels”.
• Bruce Worthman – Board of Governor’s Award for “Distinguished Staff Services”.


Founded in 1952, IEEE ComSoc has over 40,000 members and is the second largest of IEEE’s 38 technical societies. It has become a major international forum for the exchange of ideas on communications and information networking.

Print this page


Stories continue below