Electrical Business

Features Safety Safety News

Kudos, BCEA, for sponsoring 8th Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards!

September 13, 2013 | By Anthony Capkun

September 13, 2013 – Kudos to the British Columbia Electrical Association (BCEA) for stepping up as a sponsor of BC Safety Authority’s (BCSA’s ) 8th Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards, which has opened the call for nominations.

“We continue to promote and provide educational opportunities to keep the electrical industry safe and abreast of current issues,” said Barbette Ishii, executive director of BCEA, which is celebrating its 90th anniversary next year. “Code updates, arc flash hazards and counterfeits are ever-present, so we work closely with BC Safety Authority to ensure our members have the best information.”

BCSA’s Lt. Gov. Safety Awards honours individuals and organizations committed to the safe installation, operation and maintenance of technical equipment, including electrical systems.

“At BC Safety Authority, it is our job to build confidence in technical safety by working with the women and men who deliver safe technical systems every day in B.C.,” said Catherine Roome, BCSA president and CEO.


In past years, BCSA has honoured three award recipients for lifetime, individual and organizational achievements. However, this year’s awards will honour excellence in each of BCSA’s seven (7) technologies, as well as an award for systems integration. BCSA says this new format reflects its focus on recognizing those who promote safe practices across the technologies where they deliver safety services.

• Excellence in Electrical Safety
• Excellence in Boiler, Pressure Vessel and Refrigeration Safety
• Excellence in Gas Safety
• Excellence in Elevating Safety
• Excellence in Railway Safety
• Excellence in Passenger Ropeway Safety
• Excellence in Amusement Ride and Device Safety
• Excellence in Systems Safety (multi-technology)

Demonstrating a commitment and contribution to technical safety in the province, BCSA says award recipients are characterized by three or more of the following:

• Risk Aware
• Knowledgeable
• Collaborative
• Influential
• Innovative
• Involved in Industry

Nominations close October 17, 2013, so don’t delay!

Print this page


Stories continue below