Electrical Business

Features Careers Training & Education

Over $80K doled out to 2013 EFC Foundation Scholarship recipients

September 30, 2013 | By Anthony Capkun

September 30, 2013 – Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) has just announced the 2013 EFC Foundation Scholarship recipients. Congratulations!

In total, 35 scholarships were available, supported by organizations in the electrical and consumer electronics sectors, to assist Canadian university and college students achieve their career objectives. Specifically, the scholarship program encourages Canadian youth to pursue a career in the electrical, electronics and telecom industries. To date, EFC says it has invested over $600,000 in post-secondary technical training and education.

2013 Scholarship Recipients

• Affiliated Distributors Electrical Industry Scholarship ($3500): Taylor Reinhart, Fanshawe College


• Burndy Canada Inc. Academic Achievement Award ($3500): Matthew Crocker, University of Fraser Valley

• Cooper Industries Scholarship Award ($3500): Bilal Manji, Queen’s University

• Eaton Award of Academic Excellence ($3500): Waheed Zaman, University of Calgary

• GE Canada Community Leadership Award ($3500): Nicole Kai, University of Waterloo

• Gerrie Electrical Memorial Scholarship Awards (2 x $1750): Muhammad Raza, Wilfred Laurier University; Cindy Chen, McMaster University

• Graybar Canada Award of Excellence Scholarship ($3500): Pascale Mailie, University of Sherbrook

• Hoffman Enclosures Scholarship Award ($3500): Kevin Zhou, University of Western Ontario

• HPS Outstanding Electrical Scholar Award ($3500): David Drake, McMaster University

• Hubbell Canada LP Sustainability Leadership Award ($3500): Katelin Spence, University of New Brunswick

• I-Gard Corp. Student Merit Award ($3500): Cory McGraw, Durham College

• Osram Sylvania Scholastic Achievement Award ($3500): Greg Bridges, Carlton University

• Philips Lighting Continuing Education Award ($3500): Josh Cherum, University of Toronto

• RABC Future Leader in Radiocommunications Award ($3500): Lahib Haque, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

• Schneider Electric Student Merit Award ($5000): Justin Huskic, University of Calgary

• Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Awards (2 x $3500): Mihai Balan, Durham College; Austin Cousineau, University of Waterloo

• Standard Recognition of Excellence Award ($3500): Justin Lank, University of Prince Edward Island

• Thomas & Betts Scholarship Award ($3500): Raha Darvishi, University of British Columbia

• Wesco Student Achievement Award ($3500): Sukhmani Brar, University of Alberta

• EFC Foundation University Scholarships (4 x $1000): Veronica Riehl, Queen’s University; Paul Lakner, Saint Mary’s University; Houtan Emad, University of Victoria; Christian Jegues, University of Manitoba

• EFC Foundation College Scholarships (4 x $1000): Aaron Moore, NBCC Moncton; Lisa Wright, Holland College; Tianna Kassian, Lakeland College; Bryan Jarvis, Durham College

• CEMRA Academic Leadership Award ($2500): Jonah Tremblay, University of New Brunswick

• Bob Dyer/OEL Apprentice Scholarship (5 x $500): Josh Campbell, Fanshawe College; David Thomson, Mohawk College; Daniel Barna, Durham College; Richard Carrigan, Durham College; Perry Blanchard, Fanshawe College

The 2014 EFC Scholarship Program will commence January 2014, so stay tuned! Meantime, feel free to download and check out the 2013 brochure, below.

Print this page


Stories continue below