Electrical Business

Features Indigenous Careers Training & Education

Recipients of 2014 Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship named

June 17, 2014 | By Anthony Capkun

June 17, 2014 – Hydro One recently recognized eight students selected to receive the Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship, who will each receive a $5000 award and the offer of a work term with Hydro One.

“The […] scholarship helps to encourage First Nations, Metis and Inuit students to consider a career within the electricity sector,” said Judy McKellar, vice-president, people and culture with Hydro One.

The award recipients are:

• Taylor Attwood, Metis, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Conestoga College
• Jarett Carter, Saugeen First Nation, Power Engineering Technology, Georgian College
• Shane Flamand, Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve, Electrical Engineering Technologist, Cambrian College
• Summer Wawia, Kiashke Zaaging Anishinaabek, Business HR, Confederation College
• Trevor Pelletier, Dokis First Nation, Electrical Engineering Technician, Georgian College
• John Jonassen, Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation, Civil Engineering, Lakehead University
• Katie-Lynn Boulard, Metis, Electrical Engineering Technician, Northern College
• Taylor Tabobondung, Wasauksing First Nation, Conservation Biology and Environmental Science, University of Toronto


The award is named after Hon. Justice Leonard S. Tony Mandamin, explains Hydro One, who was among the first Electrical Engineering graduates in Ontario of First Nations ancestry. (Mandamin, an Anishnawbe, is a member of the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve on Manitoulin Island.)

Established in 2011, the annual scholarship is awarded to First Nations, Metis and Inuit post-secondary students enrolled in electricity-related programs.

Print this page


Stories continue below