Electrical Business


Ted Simmons, Rolfe and Brunger among CSA Standards 2011 Merit Award recipients

June 23, 2011 | By Anthony Capkun

June 14, 2011 – CSA Standards, a standards-based solutions organization, recently announced the recipients of the 2011 Award of Merit—an honour bestowed by CSA Standards to individuals that have demonstrated leadership in developing Canadian voluntary standards and who, through technical, administrative, or special standards activities, have advanced the purpose of CSA Standards.

Among the 2011 Awards of Merit recipients are:

Ted Simmons (Burnaby, B.C.) in recognition of “skilful leadership, valued involvement, and knowledge and expertise in the development and advancement of electrical codes and standards”. Simmons is chief instructor, Electrical Trades Program at the British Columbia Institute of Technology.

Alfred Brunger (Mississauga, Ont.) in recognition of “tireless leadership, pioneering work and passionate commitment” to developing and advancing standards related to solar energy. Dr. Brunger is technical manager, Energy Systems, Product Testing at Exova Canada Inc.

• Brian Rolfe (Mississauga, Ont.) in recognition of “pioneering work, long-standing leadership and unwavering support for safety standards related to the nuclear industry”. Rolfe currently works as an independent consultant providing specialized nuclear power plant electrical design support services and ongoing technical support for green energy development projects.

“The recipients of this year’s Award of Merit have all positively contributed to the creation and maintenance of standards that help lead to a safer and more sustainable world,” said Bonnie Rose, president, CSA Standards. “The Award of Merit recognizes each recipient’s expertise and knowledge in their respective fields. Their outstanding service in developing these standards impact our daily lives and for this, we thank you.”

The 2011 Awards of Merit were presented by Rose at a ceremony held during the CSA Standards annual conference in Victoria, B.C.

The CSA Award of Merit was created in 1979 to honour and recognize leadership in Canadian voluntary standards development. Nominations are open to all present or past CSA voting members, as well as former CSA employees that have: served in CSA committee activity or other associated standardization work; showed leadership in technical, administrative, or special committee activities; published papers, or made public addresses, which have been of special benefit to the work of the association; and have advanced the prestige or interest of CSA Standards.

Print this page


Stories continue below