Four Alberta electrical apprentices snag 2017 industry training board awards

Renée Francoeur
May 03, 2017
May 3, 2017 - Seventy-two members of Alberta’s trades community, including four electrical apprentices, have been honoured for their “outstanding achievements” in the workplace and in the classroom at the 2017 Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board Awards.

“These awards give the trades community an opportunity to say ‘thank you’ and showcase the excellence, ingenuity and dedication in our apprenticeship and industry training system. I want to congratulate these hard-working individuals for their successes and for their contributions to making life better for all Albertans,” said Marlin Schmidt, minister of Advanced Education.

Recipients were honoured in categories that focus on mentorship, excellence in instruction, work and educational achievement and awards that acknowledge outstanding tradespeople and employers in Alberta’s Indigenous community.

Congratulations to:

• Christopher Pearson of Calgary, electric motor systems technician
• Travis Gano of Edmonton, power system electrician
• Pavel Kozanov of Calgary, electrician
• Shayne Waterfield of Fort McMurray, powerline electrician

Darcy Tangedal of Athabasca won the Chairperson’s Award of Excellence. Tangedal is an electrical and instrumentation specialist, according to LinkedIn, and the EIC foreman at Athabasca Oil Corp.

There are more than 58,000 registered apprentices in Alberta representing over 50 designated trades and occupations, according to the province.

Add comment

Security code

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

Latest Events

ECA of Ottawa AGM
January 22, 2019

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.