Electrical Business

Features Safety Safety News

Who are Ontario’s 2013 electrical safety champions?

September 25, 2013 | By Anthony Capkun

September 25, 2013 – Everyone has a part to play in electrical safety, says Ontario’s Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) but, each year, a few individuals and organizations stand out in their commitment to building a safer province.

“ESA’s goal is to eliminate electrical fatalities and injuries in Ontario and ensure the highest level of public electrical safety,” said Scott Saint, ESA’s chief public safety officer. “From educating the public and workers about electrical hazards, to spreading the message of the importance of hiring a licensed electrical contractor (LEC), this year’s winners epitomize the leadership, commitment and innovation necessary to attain that goal.”

Those leaders were recognized earlier this week with the presentation of the 2013 Ontario Electrical Safety Awards, recognizing exceptional contributions in several categories.

Community/Home Safety (photo 1)
Winner: Bryan Baeumler (Host) & Paul Rhynold (licensed electrical contractor), and HGTV’s “Leave it to Bryan” show
… for its consistent efforts in highlighting the dangers in home renovations where work is done without a licensed electrical contractor (LEC), and to drive home the message that an LEC is the only company legally allowed to do electrical work in a home, helping to ensure the work meets the requirements of the Ontario Electrical Safety Code.


Powerline Safety (photo 2)
London Hydro
… for its ongoing commitment to the safety of its workers and the public through the creation of their Incident Alert Safety Bulletin, designed to share information about incidents and near-misses with employees to raise awareness and prevent future incidents.

Worker Safety (photo 3)
Roy Burch, Guelph Hydro
… for his ongoing efforts toward improving electrical safety training and education for First Responders when they encounter situations with new technologies, such as solar rooftop panels and electric vehicles.

Chief Public Safety Officer’s Special Recognition for Electrical Safety (photo 4)
Dr. Manual Gomez and his team, St. John’s Rehab Research Program, Sunnybrook Research Institute
… for their ongoing contribution to electrical safety and preventive strategies, and to the care of survivors of electrical injuries.

Print this page


Stories continue below