Electrical Business

BICSI Winter Conference 2010 awards winners

January 21, 2010  By Anthony Capkun

21 January 2010


At its 2010 Winter Conference & Exhibition, BICSI honoured those who have contributed to both the association and the “information transport systems (ITS)” industry in very special ways.

The David K. Blythe/University of Kentucky Award for Outstanding Member
of the Year was awarded to Betty Bezos, RCDD, ESS, NTS, OSP, WD. This
award recognizes the volunteer spirit of BICSI members, and spotlights
one individual as the BICSI member of the year for outstanding efforts
in promoting BICSI’s educational programs and commitment to
professional development within the industry.


BICSI developed the Larry G. Romig Committee Member of the Year award
in recognition of the volunteer work performed by its members and to
honour one individual for exemplary efforts and dedication within a
BICSI committee. This year’s Committee Member of the Year is John Rupf.

Awarded by the University of South Florida, College of Engineering, the
Harry J. Pfister Award for Excellence in the Telecommunications
Industry recognizes the lifetime achievement or major accomplishment of
an individual in the telecommunications industry. This year’s winner is
Jonathan Jew.

The Presidential Eagle Award is presented to individuals who have
exhibited leadership, sacrifice, faith in BICSI and dedication over a
period. This year, John and Denise Adams were recognized for their
volunteer hours and commitment to BICSI.

The Ray Gendron/BICSI Cares Scholarship offers funds to BICSI members
or their immediate families for ITS education. This year’s recipient is
Lucien Brandon, the son of BICSI member Kathy Brandon.


Print this page


Stories continue below