Electrical Business

Features Energy & Power Renewables

CanWEA honours 2014 “visionary leaders and clean energy pioneers”

October 30, 2014 | By Anthony Capkun

October 30, 2014 – During its 2014 annual conference & exhibition, the Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) recognized “visionary leaders and clean energy pioneers” for advancing the wind energy industry in Canada. Congratulations to:

Frédéric Côté, TechnoCentre éolien
First awarded in 1985, the R.J. Templin Award recognizes an individual or organization that has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy R&D work.

Millbrook First Nation
First awarded in 2001, the Group Leadership Award recognizes a government, corporation or non-profit organization.

Gavin Lowe, Suncor Energy • Hugues Girardin, Boralex
First awarded in 2003, the CanWEA Individual Leadership Award/Prix du leadership individuel is presented to an individual working for a CanWEA member.


Mike Barnard • Claude Canuel • Nicole Appleby • François Roussy
First awarded in 2009, the Friend of Wind award is presented to individuals or groups in recognition of outstanding voluntary contributions at the community level.

Jim Wilgar, GDF Suez Canada
First awarded in 2012, the Matt Holder Community Connection Award recognizes an individual working for a CanWEA member who embodies responsible, sustainable development.

Parc éolien Montérégie, Kruger Énergie
Awarded for the first time in 2013, the Wind Energy Project Award highlights the exceptional commitment to responsible and sustainable development through initial development, community engagement, permitting and construction.

CanWEA’s 2014 conference hosted more than 1500 professionals from the wind energy industry and over 100 exhibiting companies.

Print this page


Stories continue below