Electrical Business

Features Indigenous Careers Training & Education

Hydro One names recipients of 2016 Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship

June 23, 2016 | By Renée Francoeur

June 23, 2016 – In celebration of National Aboriginal Day earlier this week, Hydro One recognized 10 students selected for the Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship, granted annually to First Nations, Métis and Inuit post-secondary students.

“Our scholarship winners not only exceed in academic excellence but also in their commitment to supporting their communities which is important to recognize,” said LeeAnne Cameron, director of First Nations & Métis Relations with Hydro One. “The Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship is one of the ways Hydro One supports and encourages students to stay in school and explore opportunities within the electricity industry.”

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

• Katrina Owl, Sagamok Anishnawbek First Nation, Business Administration- Fanshawe College
• Jeremy Robson, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte, Computer Programming – St. Lawrence College
• Madison Hill, Six Nations, Environmental Science – York University
• Dominique Bomberry, Six Nations, Commerce – Queen’s University
• Ashley Lacourciere, Taykwa Tagamou Nation, Education – Lakehead University
• Daniel Lambert, Dokis First Nation, Industrial Mechanical Millwright – Cambrian College
• Joshua Van Damme, Métis, Mechanical Engineer – Carleton University
• Dalton Mathias, Métis, Line Crew Ground Support – Cambrian College
• Michael Vansickle, Inuk, Energy System Engineering Technology – Mohawk College
• Brandon Casquenette, Métis, Electrical Engineering Technology – Georgian College


Each year, up to 15 scholarships are available to students enrolled in electricity related programs. Scholarship recipients are granted $5000 and those eligible may have an opportunity to complete a paid developmental work term with Hydro One.

The award is named after Hon. Justice Leonard S. Tony Mandamin, explains Hydro One, who was among the first Electrical Engineering graduates in Ontario of First Nations ancestry. (Mandamin, an Anishnawbe, is a member of the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve on Manitoulin Island.)

Established in 2011, the annual scholarship is awarded to First Nations, Metis and Inuit post-secondary students enrolled in electricity-related programs.

Print this page


Stories continue below