Electrical Business

Features News News Safety Safety News

Recognizing Ontario’s 2022 electrical safety champs

October 3, 2022 | By Anthony Capkun

October 3, 2022 – Electrical Safety Authority recently hosted its annual Ontario Electrical Safety awards “to celebrate achievements in electrical safety”. So, which deserving organizations and individuals did ESA recognize this year?


Waterloo North Hydro (now Enova Power, after merging with Kitchener-Wilmot Hydro Inc.) was recognized for its commitment to mental health and wellness initiatives, including their participation in the Roadmap to Psychological Safety Program. In addition to expanding its existing Employee Wellness Program, WNH also encourages employees to promote mental health awareness.


Infrastructure Health & Safety Association’s Working Group for the “Overhead Powerline Safety & Equipment Guideline” was recognized for the collaboration of electrical industry safety experts whose resulting guideline helps address safety concerns associated with non-electrical trades working near or under 750V powerlines and related equipment.


Niagara Peninsula Energy was recognized for its safety poster contest for kids, the goal of which was to teach children about the dangers of electricity, as well as educate homeowners on how to stay safe around their homes. Niagara was also able to share their safety messages with school-aged children during the pandemic by converting their in-person safety presentations to online.


Trade-Mark Industrial was awarded the LEC Recognition Award for ongoing dedication to improving worker safety practices and processes, while cultivating a strong safety culture. It developed multiple safety initiatives, including an annual safety day, daily jobsite assessment meetings, and weekly safety meetings for sharing important information.


Jerry White was awarded the Public Safety Officer Award for his long-term commitment toward maintaining safety standards in the workplace over the past 34 years with Ontario Power Generation. Prior to his recent retirement, he was responsible for the work protection and switching of a complex integrated electrical grid the size of a small city.

The 2022 awards were presented by Eric Kingston, ESA’s vice-president, Operations, in the categories of Worker Safety, Consumer and Home Safety, and Powerline Safety. He also presented the Licensed Electrical Contractor Recognition Award. Patience Cathcart, public safety officer, presented the Public Safety Officer Special Recognition Award.

Ontario’s Electrical Safety Authority is responsible for administering specific regulations related to the Ontario Electrical Safety Code, the licensing of electrical contractors and master electricians, electricity distribution system safety, and electrical product safety.

Print this page


Stories continue below