Electrical Business

News Careers Training & Education

Seeking nominations: 7th Darryl Cruickshank Red Seal Industry Award

April 16, 2022 | By Anthony Capkun

April 16, 2022 – The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) has launched the call for nominations for the 7th biennial Darryl Cruickshank Red Seal Industry Award.

The award will be presented to an individual from industry in Canada who has demonstrated “inspirational leadership in the apprenticeship of skilled workers”.

The nominee must be a current or recent member of industry in Canada who is involved in apprenticeship by virtue of their business or organization and/or their participation in a committee, association or trade group.

The award is named in memory of Darryl Cruickshank, explains CCDA, who, in the course of his career with the Red Seal Secretariat, worked with industry to encourage:

• apprentices to complete their Red Seal training,
• employers to take on the responsibility for the next generation of skilled tradespersons, and
• creativity and flexibility in the design of trades training systems

Past Darryl Cruickshank Red Seal Industry Award recipients include:

2020 – Gerry Brymer
2018 – Larry Slaney
2016 – Ray Massey
2014 – Allan Bruce
2012 – William Young
2010 – James “Paul” McLellan

“I encourage you to visit the Red Seal Program’s website to view the award criteria,” said Michael Barnett, CCDA chair. “Looking forward to receiving your nominations.”

To request a nomination form, email the CCDA Secretariat at ccdasecretariat@gov.ab.ca.

You have until April 28, 2022, to submit a nomination.

Along with the federal government, the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) is a voluntary intergovernmental partnership among the provinces and territories responsible for apprenticeship training and trade certification. CCDA supports the development of skilled trades in Canada and manages the Red Seal Program.

Print this page


Stories continue below