Electrical Business

Features Careers Training & Education

EFC 2015 Scholarship recipients awarded record $120,000

September 25, 2015 | By Renée Francoeur

September 25, 2015 – Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)’s Scholarship Program!

EFC and its members have awarded Canadian university and college students $120,000 across 52 scholarships this year—a record amount of cash for the program, according to EFC.

“These scholarships both encourage and support Canadian students in their studies and some members also provide exposure to our industry through internships.  With an aging workforce and succession planning a priority combined with the rapid development of new technologies, it is critical to attract the best and brightest students”, said Joris Myny, chair 2015 EFC Scholarship Program and senior vice-president of Siemens Canada Ltd.

2015 scholarship winners:


• Affiliated Distributors, Electrical Industry Scholarship – Nicole Bouteiller (St. Clair College)

• Burndy Canada Inc. Academic Achievement Award – Ashley Gordon (New Brunswick Community College)

• Convectair Sustainable Development Scholarship – Jérémie Léger (McGill University)

• Eaton Awards of Academic Excellence – Eric Willcock (Georgian College) and Kristopher Graff (MacEwan University)

• E.B Horsman & Son Scholarship – Trent Arnott (BC Institute of Technology)

• Franklin Empire Scholarship – Adam Semoff (Durham College)

• GE Lighting Canada Community Leadership Award – Noah Rondeau (University of Victoria)

• Gerrie Electric Memorial Scholarship – Matthew Milson (Sheridan College)

• Graybar Canada Award of Excellence – Matthew Saccomanno (George Brown College)

• HPS Outstanding Electrical Scholar Award – Samuel Little (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)

• Hubbell Canada LP “Electrical Scholar Award – Courtney Harnum (Memorial of University Newfoundland)

• Ideal Supply Scholarship Award – Duncan Lemette-Johnston (Conestoga College)

• Kerrwil’s J.W. Kerr Continuing Education Scholarship – Julia Blasl (University of Windsor)

• Osram Sylvania Scholarship Achievement Award – Melissa Youlds (Simon Fraser University)

• Philips Lighting Continuing Education Award – Taylor Esplen (Saskatchewan Polytechnic)

• RABC William Taylor Scholarship in Radiocommunications – Alexia Blanchard-Lapierre (Laval University)

• RAB Design Lighting Award of Excellence – Nolan Meske (Camosen College)

• Schneider Electric Student Merit Award – Brandon Baird (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

• Siemens Canada Academic Achievement Awards – MD Safayaat-Ul Alam (University of Ontario Institute of Technology), Anton Kukhtiy (Algonquin College), Alexander Kohi (Niagara College), and Brian Conner Hartigan (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

• Sonepar Canada Scholarship – Ryan Lymburner (Simon Fraser University)

• Standard Recognition Award of Excellence – Richard- Anthony Aquino (University of Winnipeg)

• Stelpro Scholarship 360: Energizing Potential Award – Francis Quevillon (University of Laval)

• Thomas & Betts Scholarship Award – Josh Ewart (University of Victoria)

• WESCO Student Achievement Award – Chetan Singh Sahni (University of Lethbridge)

• EFC University Scholarships (14 x $1000) – Matthew Askett (Queen’s University), Andrew Boros (Durham College), Taylor Devet (McMaster University), Daniel Gagne (Conestoga College), Alex Kozachuk (University of Waterloo), Vanessa Lum (Queen’s University), Ryan Malenfant (University of Guelph), Jordan Naterer (Memorial University of Newfoundland), Andy Piechnik (University of British Columbia), Bradley Piggot (Queen’s University), Stacy Nguyen (Queen’s University), Jane Westland (University of Calgary), Grace Wijaya (McGill University), and Yilin Zhao (University of Calgary)

• EFC Atlantic Region Scholarships (4 x $1000) – Marie Chaisson, (New Brunswick Community College), Johnathan Ford (Nova Scotia Community College), Aaron Moore (New Brunswick Community College), and Joshua Power (Nova Scotia Community College)

• Ontario Electrical League – Bob Dyer/OEL Scholarships (5 x $500) – Perry Blanchard (Fanshawe College), Trevor Cairns (Durham College), Kevin Forbes (Fleming College), Daniel Lefaive (Georgian College), and David Thompson (Mohawk College).

This initiative has supported students with over $1 million in funding since the program started in 1994.

The 2016 EFC Scholarship Program will be accepting applications February 2016. Stay tuned to EBMag.com for details!

Print this page


Stories continue below