ESA elects IESO president as chair of board

Peter Saunders
April 02, 2019
ESA elects IESO president as chair of board
File photo from Alectra Utilities
April 2, 2019 – The board of directors for Ontario’s Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) has elected Peter Gregg—president and CEO of the province’s Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO)—as its chair. He succeeds Brian Bentz, who is retiring from the board after serving on it nine years, including three as chair.

"It is a privilege to accept the role as chair of the board for an organization that plays a vital role in public safety,” says Gregg. “I look forward to a productive first year working with board members, management and staff to lay the groundwork for our 2020-2025 strategic direction, as ESA continues to fulfil its vision of an Ontario where people can live, work and play safe from electrical harm."

Gregg was previously president and CEO of Enersource (now Alectra Utilities) and chief operating officer (COO) of Hydro One Networks. He joined the ESA board five years ago and has served as chair of its audit committee and a member of its human resources (HR) and investment committee.

He also currently sits on the Council of Independent System Operators and Regional Transmission Organizations, the member representatives committee of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) and the boards of directors for the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) and the Ontario Energy Network (OEN).

Add comment

Security code

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

Latest Events

OEL Golf Day
September 18, 2019
EFC Economic Forecast Day
September 19, 2019
IAEI Canadian Section Meeting
September 20-22, 2019

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.